O’Reilly resigns Superintendent position

Published January 14, 2014 by justicewg

This email was sent out Tuesday Jan. 14th. Quite a surprise.

Dear Grandview Families:
At this evening’s Board of Education meeting, I asked the board to accept my resignation as Superintendent effective July 31, 2014.
Professionally, I feel it is time to explore other opportunities and to continue my growth as an educational leader.  Grandview is in a great position both now and for the future. With that in mind, I am looking forward to the challenge of serving another school district that is striving to improve.
I will always feel commitment to Grandview and appreciate the opportunity I had to serve as Superintendent of the school district.  This is a wonderful community that truly values educational excellence.  I am proud to have served the school district for the past seven years.
I am appreciative of your efforts to positively impact our students.  Each day, countless community adults are engaged with the schools to improve the educational experience for our children.  I look forward to working with you in the coming months as we continue our important work together.
Sincerely, Ed

Was it really 7 years? It is hard to remember the time O’Reilly was the superintendent because he was such a low engagement person. I can’t recall one letter to the community in the paper, one issue he was willing to stand up and get in front of. Don’t get me wrong, he wasn’t a bad super, he just was so determined to be out of the public eye that it seemed like he wasn’t there.

I heard a rumor that O’Reilly was thinking of running for public office for some local area. Maybe state representative? I never bothered to write about it because it seemed like someone was fantasizing. Ed O’Reilly running in public? And as a Republican, which seems to require a person who is totally anti-government (a tough sell for a person who has spent his whole career on the public payroll.)

(Later) After reading back in my Grandview Watch blog for some of the stories I wrote about O’Reilly I have to correct myself – he did occasionally answer questions from reporters or write letters to the newspaper . This post was a record of some email exchanges I had with him after he answered questions for the reporter about the deal with NRI on taxes for the school.

Here’s an anecdote about a meeting I had with O’Reilly shortly after he started work. He was trying to get to know parents and scheduled some “Talk with the superintendent” meetings for 6 PM on the days when the board meetings would be held. I decided to attend one of these meetings, and after finding no one in the room where the meeting was supposed to be held, I walked down to the super’s office. He was there alone. We walked back to the room – nobody showed up. Does the community not want to talk, or was that just a dumb time to schedule a meeting? I’m thinking the latter.

He made some other early attempts to tell parents “I’m ready to listen” in his first post on the school website. That ended quickly. Read his last “Message from the Superintendent” on the new website, there is no “I’m listening to the parents”, no “stop in and lets talk”.

I think that there was some synergy going on with a board that doesn’t care much what parents think, but it sure was comfortable for O’Reilly. I wonder if he will be shocked at his new job with a community that thinks the super should be out listening and talking?

(Later) Ed O’Reilly ended up with the Educational Service Center of Central Ohio, an education services company. Read my post for some theories why he made the jump.

Leave a Reply

